Wright vows to stop ‘stupid’ tinkering ahead of Aberdeen homecoming

Peter Wright has vowed to stop his ‘stupid’ tinkering ahead of his Premier League Darts homecoming in Aberdeen, and the Scot hopes a return to his World Championship winning darts will inspire his revival – starting on Thursday.

The reigning two-time world champion currently occupies fourth spot in the Premier League table, but having failed to register a league phase victory since the opening night in Cardiff, a play-off spot is far from assured.

‘Snakebite’ has also struggled for consistency on the Pro Tour, with his last ranking title coming back in February, and the world No 1 is determined to make amends ahead of a decisive period.

“When I flew in from Munich this week I told myself to stop mucking around with all these darts,” said Wright.

“I’m fed up with giving people chances. I’ve been switching my darts stupidly, that’s why the results have been up and down.

“One minute I’m averaging over a ton and the next second in the same night I’m averaging 80 – that lack of consistency doesn’t win you games.

“Now is the time to knuckle down and use the gold ones [darts] and blow everyone off the board.

“I’ve got some important stuff coming up; there’s not many weeks left in the Premier League to qualify for the Play-Offs and be on form for New York that’s coming up.

“There’s also the World Cup and I need to make sure I’m playing well so John [Henderson] doesn’t need to carry me!”

The Scot will take on Masters champion Joe Cullen at the P&J Live in Aberdeen, and ‘The Rockstar’ has impressed on debut, prevailing on Night Seven in Rotterdam before succumbing to James Wade in last week’s Manchester showpiece.

Wright leads fifth-place Cullen by three points heading into Thursday’s action in the Granite City, but the 52-year-old is in bullish mood as he prepares for a memorable homecoming.

“It’s great to have a homecoming as World Champion and world number one,” Wright continued.

“I think it will be pretty special this time in Aberdeen now that the fans are a bit more used to the venue.

“Joe is full of confidence but I’m out there to win, that’s my job. I think I will win that game and the whole night.”

Image: Simon O’Connor/PDC

Night 11 – P&J Live, Aberdeen
Thursday April 21

Quarter-Finals
Jonny Clayton v Gary Anderson
Peter Wright v Joe Cullen
James Wade v Michael Smith
Gerwyn Price v Michael van Gerwen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑